The Dalai Lama Institute signed MOU with University of Mysore

BANGALORE:The Dalai Lama Institute for Higher Education (DLIHE) signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the University of Mysore (UOM) represented by the Registrar at Vice Chancellor’s chambers on 20 April, 2013. Under the statutes of “Outreach Programs” and “Specialized Programs”, UoM will recognize various programs and degrees at the DLIHE.

University of Mysore registrar PS Naik said: “under outreach programmes, we can recognize courses from different colleges. We have found the courses offered by DLIHE interesting.”

“Starting this academic year (2013-14), we will have a tie-up with the institute for five years, during which time we recognize BA (honors) in Tibetan language and literature, and BA (honors) in Chinese language and literature,” he added.

“With effect from 2013-2014 Academic year, the DLIHE will be recognized for BA, BCOM, BCA courses under the Statutes of Outreach programs and BA (Honors) in Tibetan Language and Literature and BA (Honors) in Chinese Language and Literature under the Statutes of’Specialized Programs’ ofUOM,” said Bumo Tsering, Principal of Dalai Lama Institute for Higher Education. “The DLIHE intends to add more programs every year under the same Statute as it develops and grows.”


Founded in 2009, the first Tibetan college of its kind established by the Tibetan Children’s Village School, the DLIHE has currently over 150 students availing BCA and BA degrees registered with Indra Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) and Tibetan Language and Literature, Chinese Language and Literature degree course developed by Tibetan Geshes and other Lecturers of Tibetan Language and Literature.

According to its prime mission to inspire Tibetan students to learn Tibetan language and culture as they continue to pursue their further studies, the college said it will provide a broad spectrum of study curriculum, including science, arts, counseling and, computer and information technology studies.

The University of Mysore is the first university in the state of Karnataka and the sixth oldest in India. It was established by Maharaja of Mysore, Nalvadi Krishnaraja, on 27 July 1916 and has over 200 affiliated colleges offering post and undergraduate programs.